JANUARY FAVOURITES

Honestly, I’m glad January is over. It’s been a rough month for me. For some reason everything that could go wrong, went wrong; I failed my exams, I was feeling very down and unmotivated, my skin broke out like crazy and ugh, I just wasn’t feeling that great…

Now that we’re halfway into February, I’m finally feeling better. I’m going to do more things that make me happy, just to be sure I won’t be feeling as down and sad as I was in January. With that being said, there still were a few things I’ve been enjoying during the first month of this year. So yeah, let’s talk about my January Favourites.

 


Jacket (Thrifted)

 

Processed with VSCO with t1 preset

Processed with VSCO with t1 preset

Lately, I’ve been obsessed with thrifting. There’s something about going through the racks, not knowing what you’ll find (maybe trash or maybe treasure) that I really love. I’ve gone thrifting two or three times last month and I know for sure I’ll be doing it a lot more this year: 2017 is going to be the year of thrifting for me.

But, yeah, LOOK WHAT I FOUND AT MY LOCAL THRIFT STORE! I’m so happy I came across this Madonna jacket. I absolutely love it. The shape is cool and the buttoning looks stylish as well. It’s something I would buy in a ‘general’ store too, where it’s probably sold for €80 and this jacket was only €5! That’s crazy right?

I’m not that big of a Madonna fan, but she sure is an icon, so I’m more than okay with wearing her name on my jacket. It feels kind of chic though…. The best part about this jacket definetly is the fact that someone in my neighbourhood is (or was, considering someone didn’t want it any more) a fan of Madonna. I love that idea!


La Roche-Posay Skincare

052.jpg

I’ve heard so many good things about this brand that when my skin was having a mental break-down (and thanks to my skin, I was, too), I decided to give it a go. I bought a tonic and a moisturiser, both for sensitive and acne-prone skin AND HELL YES I’m happy I made that decision. I didn’t notice a difference at first, but after a week or so my skin was clearer-looking. I love both products, because the tonic is really soothing and mattifying and the moisturiser makes my skin feel soft and smooth. They don’t work wonders, but they sure helped my skin to calm down. If you’re having trouble with your skin, like I am, I recommend trying out products from this brand! They might help.

 

Products mentioned:


Q&A a day

 

053.jpg

I’m an absolute sucker for (Buzzfeed) quizzes and answering questions, so it only felt right to buy this book. It’s a 5-year journal with one question every single day. I love it because you can see how your answers change over the years. You’ll probably answer questions like “On a scale of 1 to 10, how happy are you?” or “What can you smell right now?”  differently each year and that’s fun to look back on! I bought this book back in December when I was visiting Amsterdam, but I just started using it on the very first day of January. That’s why I’ve been loving it this particular month. I’m already looking forward to answering questions for the next 5 years…

click


What’s A Girl Gotta Do (Holly Bourne)

 

054.jpg

This book will change your life, for the better. I’ve enjoyed every single page and I already want to read it again! It’s that good.

The protagonist of the story, Lottie, starts up an interesting project: for one month she’ll be calling out every sexist thing she comes across. Lottie wants to change the world but not everyone is happy about that…

That’s all I’m going to say about What’s A Girl Gotta Do, because I don’t want to ruin the surprise! What I love about this book is that it touches on subjects like feminism, friendship and love so perfectly. It’s funny, inspiring, heartbreaking and just exactly the kind of book we need in 2017. I love it.

Apparently it’s book three in a series, but that doesn’t matter. I’ve read it on its own and didn’t have a problem understanding it at all. I recommend this book to all of you; it’s honestly amazing.

click


IAMKARENO

 

059

You all know I love my YouTubers. I feel like every month I recommend at least one YouTuber to you guys and I’m not sure how that’s happened. But I’m not at all mad about that. Okay, enough said, let’s talk about IAMKARENO.

Karen Yeung (or IAMKARENO) is a 23-year-old YouTuber with Chinese roots who makes mostly fashion-inspired videos. Her style is amazing. It’s quite quirky, which I love. I also live for her lookbooks, they’re so good. What I love about Karen is that she’s very unique, but also really cool and honest.

Her videos inspired me to wear more colours. I usually wear a lot of black, but because of IAMKARENO, I recently went out and bought a yellow and a red shirt, colours I thought I’d never wear! That’s the impact she has on me…

click


 

Leave a Reply

